ConveyancingRelax. We take care of every detail for a truly stress free buying and selling experience

Find out more

Conveyancing

The key to making sure your property sale or purchase runs as smoothly as possible.

The role of a conveyancing solicitor is to take care of all the essential legal paperwork needed to conclude the sale or purchase of any kind of property.  But making sure all the right documents are in the right place at the right time is only part of the story.  Or, at least, it should be.

We believe it’s our highly personalised approach that makes all the difference to the conveyancing service we provide at Pagan Osborne.  That’s why we work harder to understand the unique requirements and expectations of each and every one of our clients as a guide to how we can best represent their interests – with or without direct instruction – at every stage of sometimes difficult contract negotiations.

For example, it may not be possible to contact the seller or buyer for a key decision at a critical point in the transaction.  There may be misunderstandings on both sides as to what should or should not be included in the sale.  Constantly changing building regulations could turn a hitherto minor problem into a major headache that could jeopardise the whole transaction to the bitter disappointment of both sides.  

It is therefore our responsibility as conveyancing solicitors to work through any such issues with the single aim of getting the best possible result for our clients.  And all the time, the clock keeps ticking away towards that critical entry date deadline…

So whether you’re selling or buying, remember how important it is to get the right conveyancing solicitor on your side.  And when it comes to experience, enthusiasm and commitment, there can be no better choice than the conveyancing team at Pagan Osborne.

  • Related Documents
  • FAQs
  • Q1 What does noting interest mean?
  • A1

    Once you have identified a property, we will contact the selling agents to formally log your interest in the property. If you do not note interest through a Solicitor, you may not be told of a closing date.

  • Q2 What effect does noting interest have?
  • A2

    It means the selling agents should revert to us if anyone else wants to offer for the property or when a closing date has been set.

  • Q3 What is a closing date?
  • A3

    If more than one party has noted interest, then the selling agent will set a time and date when all interested parties should submit their offer for the property you are interested in.

  • Q4 How do I frame the offer?
  • A4

    The offer sets out the price you want to pay and the date on which you will pay the price, the "date of entry", as well as other relevant conditions such as subject to survey etc. We will advise on the price based on our knowledge of the market, the Home Report if there is one etc.

  • Q5 What are the missives?
  • A5

    The offer and the acceptance form the missives.

  • Q6 When is the contract binding?
  • A6

    The contract is binding when a written acceptance is issued stating "we are holding the bargain as concluded". Until then, either party can change their minds. A verbal agreement has no legal effect.

  • Q7 When do I sign?
  • A7

    We sign the offer/acceptances on your behalf as your agents. You sign loan papers if you are purchasing or the title deed in favour of the buyer if you are a seller.

  • Q8 How long does it take?
  • A8

    The date of entry on which the price is paid is usually 6 weeks from the date of the offer to allow for the completion of the legal formalities. It is influenced by various factors, including preferences of the parties and availability of funds. We can advise on the date that is most appropriate for your requirements.

     

     

     

     

Meet the legal team

Edinburgh
  • Alan Innes
    Alan Innes
    Partner and Head of Private Client Edinburgh and Commercial and Business Services
    aainnes@pagan.co.uk
  • Mark Harris
    Mark Harris
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    mharris@pagan.co.uk
  • Sue Campbell
    Sue Campbell
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    scampbell@pagan.co.uk
  • Alma Alexander
    Alma Alexander
    Legal Secretary
    alexander@pagan.co.uk
  • Ian Fraser
    Ian Fraser
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    ifraser@pagan.co.uk
  • Keith McLaren
    Keith McLaren
    Solicitor – Client Advisor: Private Client
    kmclaren@pagan.co.uk
  • Lianne Lodge
    Lianne Lodge
    Associate – Private Client and Head of Lateryears Service
    llodge@pagan.co.uk
  • Neil Paterson
    Neil Paterson
    Partner – Private Client
    npaterson@pagan.co.uk
  • Ronnie Sembay
    Ronnie Sembay
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    rsembay@pagan.co.uk
  • Stuart Lisgo
    Stuart Lisgo
    Associate– Private Client Team
    slisgo@pagan.co.uk
  • Tracey Steen
    Tracey Steen
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    tsteen@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah McPherson
    Sarah McPherson
    Client Care Executive
    smcpherson@pagan.co.uk
  • Kirsty Buchan
    Kirsty Buchan
    Solicitor
    : Email kbuchan@pagan.co.uk
  • Fife
  • Cathy  Munro
    Cathy Munro
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    cmunro@pagan.co.uk
  • Audrey  Dishington
    Audrey Dishington
    Client Development Director & Partner
    adishington@pagan.co.uk
  • Douglas Turner
    Douglas Turner
    Partner
    dturner@pagan.co.uk
  • Colin  Clark
    Colin Clark
    Partner – Head of Agriculture & Estates
    cmclark@pagan.co.uk
  • Elizabeth  Calderwood
    Elizabeth Calderwood
    Director and Partner – Private Client
    elcalderwood@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona McDonald
    Fiona McDonald
    Partner – Private Client
    fmcdonald@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona Shields
    Fiona Shields
    Head of Private Client, Fife & Executries
    fshields@pagan.co.uk
  • Gillian Gibbons
    Gillian Gibbons
    Agriculture & Estates
    ggibbons@pagan.co.uk
  • Hilda Brown
    Hilda Brown
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    hbrown@pagan.co.uk
  • Linda Leighton
    Linda Leighton
    Trusts and Charities Accountant – Private Client
    lleighton@pagan.co.uk
  • Michelle Wilson
    Michelle Wilson
    Legal Executive – Executries Team
    mwilson@pagan.co.uk
  • Sandy Grant
    Sandy Grant
    Partner, Head of Conveyancing
    sgrant@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah Thurston
    Sarah Thurston
    Solicitor
    sthurston@pagan.co.uk
    • Pagan Osborne acted in the sale of my flat...the conveyancing was dealt with by Elaine (Del Valle) in a most professional manner.
      Mr Hardie
      Edinburgh

    GET IN TOUCH


    Not sure where to start? Why not just give us a call today on
    0131 624 6820 for Edinburgh or 01334 475001 for Fife to discuss your needs.

    All fields marked with * are needed

    GET IN TOUCH

    Want to work with a local, friendly company? Then find your nearest Pagan Osborne office to you below. However, we also work with clients throughout the UK so you can call any of our numbers and our helpful reception staff will be happy to forward on your call to the most appropriate expert to suit your needs.

    Edinburgh
    Clarendon House
    116 George Street
    Edinburgh
    EH2 4LH Call Us
    Tel: 0131 624 6820
    Fax: 0131 220 1612
    2 Comiston Road
    Morningside
    Edinburgh
    EH10 5QE Call Us
    Tel: 0131 539 3333
    Fax: 0131 538 7204
    St Andrews
    106 South Street
    St Andrews
    Fife
    KY16 9QD Call Us
    Tel: 01334 475001
    Fax: 01334 476322
    Cupar
    12 St Catherine Street
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 4HH Call Us
    Tel: 01334 653777
    Fax: 01334 655063
    1 Crossgate
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 5HA Call Us
    Tel: 01334 656525
    Fax: 01334 654119
    Anstruther
    Pagan Osborne
    5a Shore Street
    Anstruther
    Fife
    KY10 3EA Call Us
    Tel: 01333 310703
    Fax: 01333 311918

    CALL BACK SERVICE

    Got a question? Fill in your details below and we'll give you
    a call back on the date and time you have chosen.

    All fields marked with * are needed