Trust law advisory serviceHelping other Scottish law firms with specialist advice on Trust matters outside their
normal field

Choose a service

Trust Law Advisory Service

What do you do when your client brings you a matter which is outside your usual area of practice?

Your client trusts you and wants you to act but doesn’t recognise how difficult it is to cover all areas of law or the professional indemnity risks involved. You don’t want to let them down or lose the business.

Should you take it on? What are the risks? Should you suggest that your client looks elsewhere for advice? If so, where? And will they come back? We can help.

Pagan Osborne offers assistance to Scottish law firms requiring access to specialist advice through our Trust Law Advisory Service. Our specialist advisors have a wealth of experience in the creation and administration of Trusts.

In the current difficult economic climate, clients are probably turning to you more than ever before for advice and assistance on how best to protect their wealth for future generations. Trusts can provide flexible solutions to many family issues and can therefore be used in a number of ways, for example, to protect the wealth of young children until they are old enough to manage it themselves; as an educational Trust for grandchildren; or to help maintain the stability and business continuity needed by a family business in the event of a family member’s death.

However, the needs of clients in this area are often complex, involving personal, charitable and business matters. Our services are tailored to individual needs and draw on all our expertise. This will include advising on the purposes of the Trust, who the trustees will be, how long the Trust should run and on keys dates for making future decisions and how and when to wind it up.

Trusts can be viewed as tax saving devices and, as a matter of course, we can offer advice on gifting and tax reliefs and are used to negotiating valuations with HMRC.

For more details about this scheme or to discuss a particular case please contact our Trust specialist Stuart Lisgo on 0131 624 6834.

  • The Advantages to you...

    • You have immediate access to specialist advice and assistance
    • You and your client are in control and set the rules
    • You retain the principal contact with your clients, avoiding them seeking advice elsewhere
    • Your clients are impressed that you have identified the need for and have access to specialis
    advice
    • You introduce your clients to a firm that places real value on the client experience
    • You reduce your exposure to professional indemnity claims

  • How the service works

    We will discuss with you at the outset how we could assist in any particular case. There are various possibilities such as:

    • Providing a second opinion
    • Taking on the whole matter
    • Providing advice on specific aspects while you continue to deal with the majority of the matter
    • Advising "out of sight" while you continue to front the matter.  It is for you to decide the level of our involvement in each case

    We will agree feeing arrangements with you and how we will communicate with your client (if at all).

    We will not undertake work for your clients which you would normally carry out for them or which is within your normal area of practice.

    We will not "poach" your clients. This service works because we build relationships with you and other firms who like to have our back up. We respect your relationships with your clients and will not disturb those.

     

     

Meet the legal team

Edinburgh
  • Alan Innes
    Alan Innes
    Partner and Head of Private Client Edinburgh and Commercial and Business Services
    aainnes@pagan.co.uk
  • Mark Harris
    Mark Harris
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    mharris@pagan.co.uk
  • Sue Campbell
    Sue Campbell
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    scampbell@pagan.co.uk
  • Alma Alexander
    Alma Alexander
    Legal Secretary
    alexander@pagan.co.uk
  • Ian Fraser
    Ian Fraser
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    ifraser@pagan.co.uk
  • Keith McLaren
    Keith McLaren
    Solicitor – Client Advisor: Private Client
    kmclaren@pagan.co.uk
  • Lianne Lodge
    Lianne Lodge
    Associate – Private Client and Head of Lateryears Service
    llodge@pagan.co.uk
  • Neil Paterson
    Neil Paterson
    Partner – Private Client
    npaterson@pagan.co.uk
  • Ronnie Sembay
    Ronnie Sembay
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    rsembay@pagan.co.uk
  • Stuart Lisgo
    Stuart Lisgo
    Associate– Private Client Team
    slisgo@pagan.co.uk
  • Tracey Steen
    Tracey Steen
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    tsteen@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah McPherson
    Sarah McPherson
    Client Care Executive
    smcpherson@pagan.co.uk
  • Kirsty Buchan
    Kirsty Buchan
    Solicitor
    : Email kbuchan@pagan.co.uk
  • Fife
  • Cathy  Munro
    Cathy Munro
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    cmunro@pagan.co.uk
  • Audrey  Dishington
    Audrey Dishington
    Client Development Director & Partner
    adishington@pagan.co.uk
  • Douglas Turner
    Douglas Turner
    Partner
    dturner@pagan.co.uk
  • Colin  Clark
    Colin Clark
    Partner – Head of Agriculture & Estates
    cmclark@pagan.co.uk
  • Elizabeth  Calderwood
    Elizabeth Calderwood
    Partner – Private Client
    elcalderwood@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona McDonald
    Fiona McDonald
    Partner – Private Client
    fmcdonald@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona Shields
    Fiona Shields
    Head of Private Client, Fife & Executries
    fshields@pagan.co.uk
  • Gillian Gibbons
    Gillian Gibbons
    Agriculture & Estates
    ggibbons@pagan.co.uk
  • Hilda Brown
    Hilda Brown
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    hbrown@pagan.co.uk
  • Linda Leighton
    Linda Leighton
    Trusts and Charities Accountant – Private Client
    lleighton@pagan.co.uk
  • Michelle Wilson
    Michelle Wilson
    Legal Executive – Executries Team
    mwilson@pagan.co.uk
  • Sandy Grant
    Sandy Grant
    Partner, Head of Conveyancing
    sgrant@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah Thurston
    Sarah Thurston
    Solicitor
    sthurston@pagan.co.uk
    • Winner of 'Private Client Team of Year' at the Legal Awards of Scotland

    GET IN TOUCH


    Not sure where to start? Why not just give us a call today on
    0131 624 6820 for Edinburgh or 01334 475001 for Fife to discuss your needs.

    All fields marked with * are needed

    GET IN TOUCH

    Want to work with a local, friendly company? Then find your nearest Pagan Osborne office to you below. However, we also work with clients throughout the UK so you can call any of our numbers and our helpful reception staff will be happy to forward on your call to the most appropriate expert to suit your needs.

    Edinburgh
    Clarendon House
    116 George Street
    Edinburgh
    EH2 4LH Call Us
    Tel: 0131 624 6820
    Fax: 0131 220 1612
    2 Comiston Road
    Morningside
    Edinburgh
    EH10 5QE Call Us
    Tel: 0131 539 3333
    Fax: 0131 538 7204
    St Andrews
    106 South Street
    St Andrews
    Fife
    KY16 9QD Call Us
    Tel: 01334 475001
    Fax: 01334 476322
    Cupar
    12 St Catherine Street
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 4HH Call Us
    Tel: 01334 653777
    Fax: 01334 655063
    1 Crossgate
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 5HA Call Us
    Tel: 01334 656525
    Fax: 01334 654119
    Anstruther
    Pagan Osborne
    5a Shore Street
    Anstruther
    Fife
    KY10 3EA Call Us
    Tel: 01333 310703
    Fax: 01333 311918

    CALL BACK SERVICE

    Got a question? Fill in your details below and we'll give you
    a call back on the date and time you have chosen.

    All fields marked with * are needed