TrustsLocking your assets away in a protective Trust holds the key to long term peace of mind for you and your family

Find out more

Trusts

What could setting up a tax-efficient Trust Fund mean for you and your family?

In the simplest of terms, setting up a Trust is the perfect way to protect your assets and maximise the benefits you wish to pass on to others such as your children or grandchildren.  The main advantage of Trusts is that they can be set up in such a way as to qualify for a range of tax exemptions … and that’s where it starts to get complicated.

Expert advice is therefore essential, especially as there are so many different types of Trusts for different purposes.  Pagan Osborne’s specialist Trust advisors in Edinburgh and Fife can guide you through the process of setting up a Trust and help you make the most suitable choice for what you want achieve. 

For example, your main priority might be to minimise your exposure to Inheritance Tax by moving up to £325,000 of personal assets (£650,000 per couple) into a Trust so they cannot be counted as part of your estate, provided you survive for seven years.

Alternatively, you might wish to use a Trust as a tax efficient way to pay for school fees or lock money away for future generations to give them the best possible start in adult life.  You can even transfer property into a Trust to keep it in the family and prevent it being used to fund future Care Home fees.

Thanks to their unique flexibility, there are any number of ways you can use Trusts to benefit you and your family – so why not find out more by talking to the experts you can trust at Pagan Osborne.

Meet the legal team

Edinburgh
  • Alan Innes
    Alan Innes
    Partner and Head of Private Client Edinburgh and Commercial and Business Services
    aainnes@pagan.co.uk
  • Mark Harris
    Mark Harris
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    mharris@pagan.co.uk
  • Sue Campbell
    Sue Campbell
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    scampbell@pagan.co.uk
  • Alma Alexander
    Alma Alexander
    Legal Secretary
    alexander@pagan.co.uk
  • Ian Fraser
    Ian Fraser
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    ifraser@pagan.co.uk
  • Keith McLaren
    Keith McLaren
    Solicitor – Client Advisor: Private Client
    kmclaren@pagan.co.uk
  • Lianne Lodge
    Lianne Lodge
    Associate – Private Client and Head of Lateryears Service
    llodge@pagan.co.uk
  • Neil Paterson
    Neil Paterson
    Partner – Private Client
    npaterson@pagan.co.uk
  • Ronnie Sembay
    Ronnie Sembay
    Partner – Commercial and Business Services
    rsembay@pagan.co.uk
  • Stuart Lisgo
    Stuart Lisgo
    Associate– Private Client Team
    slisgo@pagan.co.uk
  • Tracey Steen
    Tracey Steen
    Specialist Executry Paralegal
    tsteen@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah McPherson
    Sarah McPherson
    Client Care Executive
    smcpherson@pagan.co.uk
  • Kirsty Buchan
    Kirsty Buchan
    Solicitor
    : Email kbuchan@pagan.co.uk
  • Fife
  • Cathy  Munro
    Cathy Munro
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    cmunro@pagan.co.uk
  • Audrey  Dishington
    Audrey Dishington
    Client Development Director & Partner
    adishington@pagan.co.uk
  • Douglas Turner
    Douglas Turner
    Partner
    dturner@pagan.co.uk
  • Colin  Clark
    Colin Clark
    Partner – Head of Agriculture & Estates
    cmclark@pagan.co.uk
  • Elizabeth  Calderwood
    Elizabeth Calderwood
    Partner – Private Client
    elcalderwood@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona McDonald
    Fiona McDonald
    Partner – Private Client
    fmcdonald@pagan.co.uk
  • Fiona Shields
    Fiona Shields
    Head of Private Client, Fife & Executries
    fshields@pagan.co.uk
  • Gillian Gibbons
    Gillian Gibbons
    Agriculture & Estates
    ggibbons@pagan.co.uk
  • Hilda Brown
    Hilda Brown
    Specialist Paralegal – Executries
    hbrown@pagan.co.uk
  • Linda Leighton
    Linda Leighton
    Trusts and Charities Accountant – Private Client
    lleighton@pagan.co.uk
  • Michelle Wilson
    Michelle Wilson
    Legal Executive – Executries Team
    mwilson@pagan.co.uk
  • Sandy Grant
    Sandy Grant
    Partner, Head of Conveyancing
    sgrant@pagan.co.uk
  • Sarah Thurston
    Sarah Thurston
    Solicitor
    sthurston@pagan.co.uk
    • Did you know that some simple planning can help you save 40% on Inheritance Tax?
      Legal FAQ No 4

    GET IN TOUCH


    Not sure where to start? Why not just give us a call today on
    0131 624 6820 for Edinburgh or 01334 475001 for Fife to discuss your needs.

    All fields marked with * are needed

    GET IN TOUCH

    Want to work with a local, friendly company? Then find your nearest Pagan Osborne office to you below. However, we also work with clients throughout the UK so you can call any of our numbers and our helpful reception staff will be happy to forward on your call to the most appropriate expert to suit your needs.

    Edinburgh
    Clarendon House
    116 George Street
    Edinburgh
    EH2 4LH Call Us
    Tel: 0131 624 6820
    Fax: 0131 220 1612
    2 Comiston Road
    Morningside
    Edinburgh
    EH10 5QE Call Us
    Tel: 0131 539 3333
    Fax: 0131 538 7204
    St Andrews
    106 South Street
    St Andrews
    Fife
    KY16 9QD Call Us
    Tel: 01334 475001
    Fax: 01334 476322
    Cupar
    12 St Catherine Street
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 4HH Call Us
    Tel: 01334 653777
    Fax: 01334 655063
    1 Crossgate
    Cupar
    Fife
    KY15 5HA Call Us
    Tel: 01334 656525
    Fax: 01334 654119
    Anstruther
    Pagan Osborne
    5a Shore Street
    Anstruther
    Fife
    KY10 3EA Call Us
    Tel: 01333 310703
    Fax: 01333 311918

    CALL BACK SERVICE

    Got a question? Fill in your details below and we'll give you
    a call back on the date and time you have chosen.

    All fields marked with * are needed